Kampala — Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) on Thursday 20 May 2016, named Kasese Woman MP Winifred Kizza as Leader of Opposition in Parliament (LoP), for the 10th Parliament, Kira Municipality MP Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda Opposition Chief Whip and Dokolo Woman MP Cecilia Ogwal member of the Parliament Commission.

Ms Kizza emerged as LoP, fending off competition from Ms Ogwal. The Kasese Woman MP replaces Mr Wafula Oguttu, who served as LoP for the final two and a half years of the 9th Parliament but lost his Bukholi Central seat.

The three leaders will interface to come up with names of who will head the four Opposition-led accountability committees and a member for the pan-African Parliament, Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU), Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and the Africa, Caribbean, Pacific – European Union Joint Parliamentary Assembly.