FDC Issues EALA Nomination Roadmap

FDC Issues EALA Nomination Roadmap

Opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) has Monday released its roadmap for nomination of members that will represent the party at the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

FDC has not been represented in the current term for EALA after the party chose to boycott the previous 2012 election exercise citing failure to abide by the rules governing EALA elections.

Uganda’s current representatives include NRM MPs Dora Byamukama, Daniel Kidega, Margaret Zziwa, Bernard Mulengani, Mike Kennedy Sebalu and Nusura Tiperu, opposition’s Fred Mukasa Mbidde, Chris Okumu Opoka and Susan Nakawuki.

The decision taken by FDC was seen as a big mistake that the party blindly committed and in avoidance of the same, the party spokesperson, Ibrahim Semuju Nganda told the media that the party has written to the Speaker, Rebecca Kadaga seeking for clear guidelines on the forthcoming elections.

“The party Working and National Executive Committees recently held a meeting, we decided to write to the Speaker to inform us when the EALA elections shall take place, how it will be conducted and as FDC we want to know the number of slots that we have,” Nganda said.

Nganda noted that in the mean time, the party has released the road map which interested members must follow to be nominated for the seat.

According to the program, interested members shall pick nomination forms starting 19th January throughout the week, while the official nomination shall be held on January 24 and 25.

“The nominees will later appear before the party’s National Executive Committee who will vet and choose the best candidate or candidates on February 9; who will be forwarded for the final vote before Parliament,” Nganda said.

Leave a comment