FDC Presidency nominations start

FDC Presidency nominations start

Nomination of candidates seeking to lead the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) Party started on Monday, 14th August at the Party Headquarters in Najjanankumbi, Kampala.

The nomination exercise follows the end of the first term of office of the current President, Maj. Gen. Gregory Mugisha Muntu who took over from Dr Kizza Besigye in 2012. Gen. Muntu who is seeking another term of office will be tussling with five other contenders.

Other politicians interested to lead the party include Mr Moses Byamugisha, Mr Moses Bakubira, Mr Dan Malcom Matsiko, Kawempe South MP Mubarak Munyagwa and former legislator Patrick Amuriat Oboi.

Four of these will be nominated on Monday, while Mr. Munyagwa and Mr Oboi are scheduled for nomination on 15th August, Tuesday.

The process led by FDC Electoral Commission Chairperson Dan Mugarura, started with the nomination of Mr Matsiko, who is driving his campaign on a promise to fundraise and build a strong party.

Mr Matsiko says FDC cannot depose the ruling National Resistance Movement party without a strong treasury.

He said much as Gen. Muntu has played his part, he should hand over the mantle to other party members to drive the party to the next level.

According to a roadmap, candidates will embark on a campaign trail from August 17, meeting FDC members across the country ahead of elections scheduled for November 17.

Leave a comment